Middle of the night

i sorta love this time. 

Ok so don’t get me wrong, I haven’t always loved this time and I don’t necessarily love it all the time but right now I love it. At 3.5 months, Téo usually wakes up once a night. I mean what better way to bond with your child than while nursing him in the middle of the night. Yes I wish we could sleep all night. Yes I long for those pre-Mommy days when I didn’t need to go to bed at 10 just so I can get a decent nights rest. Yes Yes Yes. But those are things I needed before becoming a Mom. Now I’m solely in charge of nourishing another human being. It’s not just me anymore. Breastfeeding blows my mind and it’ll probably be a post in the future. I’m amazed that this “liquid gold” as everyone calls it, sustains a little body that is growing so rapidly. 

So I also know that I’m one of the fortunate ones. I know there are Moms out there that are waking up multiple times a night and praying for a night where they get at least 2 straight hours of interrupted sleep. And to you I say “hang in there, this too shall pass!”. I remember the early days when I never thought Teo would sleep. I would get so frustrated with him. You know those times when you know he’s passed out in your arms and every time you lean over to put them down they scream. It’s like, how do they know??  Those were the nights when I was so thankful to have a partner for this journey. Scott would tag in and take over rocking Teo back to sleep. It always seemed like he could get Teo back to sleep and his bassinet so quickly. Or he’d remind me to try gripe water or check his diaper. It’s amazing how far we’ve come in just 3 short months. We’re parents now. We don’t always have the best answers but we’re doing our best and just trying to make it one day at a time. To all the mommies up in the middle of the night, take a moment to look at your little one however old and breathe them in. 



2 thoughts on “Middle of the night

  1. Once a night sounds wonderful, I can’t wait for that but you’re right, in the middle of the night it’s so incredibly special, AND when they look at you and smile, suddenly being awake at 3am isn’t so bad. I’m really looking forward to a breast feeding post!!

    Like

    1. So of course I jinxed myself. Teo woke up 4 times last night. I’m thinking growth spurt because he wanted to eat every hour this morning while I was getting ready.

      Like

Leave a Reply

